Joy Organics Review: USDA-Organic CBD (Nov. 2022)

By | last updated December 15, 2022

Evidence Based 3

We personally test CBD products and may earn a commission if you shop through the links on this page. Learn more.

True to its name, Colorado’s Joy Organics sells a variety of CBD products sourced from USDA-certified organic hemp. I tried out its strongest CBD oil, softgels, sleep gummies, and THCV gummies, which had noticeable effects and great flavors. 

Bottom line: Joy Organics is a great option for USDA-organic CBD products. 

Pros

  • Hundreds of positive customer reviews
  • Full and broad-spectrum options
  • Many products are USDA-organic
  • Some innovative products
  • Transparent, family-run brand

Cons

  • Low minor cannabinoid and terpene levels in some products
  • Lacking details about hemp source

Overall Rating: 4.3/5

Use coupon code SNOW20 for 20% off

Products 4.5/5

The products I tested worked well and tasted great. I’m also a fan of the product variety, with many strengths and formulas to choose from.

Price & Value 3.5/5

Joy Organics’ prices are just around average, although you are getting above-average value thanks to the USDA organic certification.

Hemp Quality 4.5/5

The hemp comes from USDA-certified organic farms, which is as good as it gets. But I’d like more details about where it’s grown and how.

Third-Party Testing 4.5/5

Joy Organics provides complete, up-to-date potency & purity test results. But some tests show low minor cannabinoid levels and variety or lack THC (for full-spectrum products).

Customer Service & Reputation 4.5/5

Customer reviews have overwhelmingly good things to say about Joy Organics. I also like the company’s transparency, family-run style, and charitable initiatives.

Joy Organics Overview

Joy Organics was founded by Joy Smith, her husband Tod, and their son Gerrid in 2018.

The idea came from Gerrid, who came across CBD and suggested it to his mom as a way to relieve her pain and sleep issues. After seeing great results, the family decided to start their own CBD company and slowly brought in other family members.

True to its name, the family-run business offers a full range of CBD products sourced from hemp grown and extracted with USDA-certified organic methods. 

CBD Terminology

  • Terpenes: aromatic plant compounds with a wide variety of beneficial properties (1).
  • Minor cannabinoids: CBN, CBG, CBC, and other beneficial cannabinoids found in smaller amounts in hemp. They may work in synergy with CBD, enhancing its effects.
  • Hemp: non-intoxicating cannabis variety with high CBD and low THC levels (less than 0.3%).
  • Full-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract containing multiple cannabinoids, terpenes, and flavonoids. This form of CBD may be about 4 times more potent than pure CBD (2).
  • Broad-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract similar to full-spectrum CBD, but with THC removed (may contain trace amounts).
  • CBD isolate: pure CBD with all other hemp compounds removed.

Joy Organics Product Lineup

Joy Organics’ offerings include full and broad-spectrum CBD tinctures (which are USDA-certified organic), gummies, softgels, topicals, and pet products. 

The Joy Organics products I received and tested for this unbiased review.

The company sent me its high-potency (75 mg/ml) full-spectrum CBD oil, curcumin CBD softgels, sleep gummies, and THCV gummies to try out.

CBD Oils

Organic Full & Broad-Spectrum CBD Tinctures

joy organics full spectrum cbd oil

5/5

CBD Potency15-75 mg/ml
Volume15-30 ml 
Total CBD450-2250 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.06–0.10
TypeFull & broad-spectrum
Flavors6
Third-Party TestView report

The company’s CBD oil tinctures are certified organic by the USDA, which means they contain 95+% organic ingredients. The full and broad-spectrum (THC-free) varieties come in unflavored and additional flavored options: fresh lime, tranquil mint, orange bliss, summer lemon, and tropical sunrise. Third-party tests show ~15% minor cannabinoids, which is impressive. 

My experience: I tested the tropical sunrise 75 mg/ml tincture, taking a full dropper during the day. The flavor was nice and the effects kicked in 20 minutes later, with noticeable relaxation and improved mood. I also felt a little drowsy.

Organic CBD + CBG Tincture

joy organics cbd cbg tincture

4.5/5

CBD Potency25-50 mg/ml
Volume15-30 ml
Total CBD375-1500 mg
Cost per mg$0.07-0.09
TypeFull-spectrum
FlavorsNatural
Third-Party TestView report

This full-spectrum tincture has a 1:1 ratio of CBD to CBG. I’d like to see the strength increased to 50 mg/ml since 30 is too low for many people. 

CBD Gummies

THCV Gummies

joy organics thcv gummies

4.5/5

THCV Potency25 mg
Gummy Count10-30
Total THCV250-750 mg
Cost per mg$0.07-0.08
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

These passion fruit-flavored gummies contain tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), a minor cannabinoid found in cannabis. THCV is non-intoxicating and early studies have shown that it may have appetite-suppressing effects and help control blood sugar (1, 2). It’s starting to show up in hemp products designed to promote weight loss and improve energy levels. 

My experience: I took one gummy daily at around 1 pm. I liked the unique passion fruit taste. The effects aren’t easy to pinpoint but I felt less hungry with more energy and focus. I also felt some jitteriness like with caffeine but that may be because I’m sensitive to stimulants in general.

CBD Gummies for Sleep

joy organics sleep gummies

4.5/5

CBD/CBN Potency33 mg
Gummy Count30
Total CBD/CBN990 mg
Cost per mg$0.05
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

The sleep gummies carry 30 mg CBD, 3 mg of the “sleep cannabinoid” cannabinol (CBN), and 3 mg of melatonin. I like the formula and minor cannabinoid amounts.

My experience: I took 2 gummies before bed and felt a little more sleepy. The berry flavor was pleasant and not too sweet.

Organic CBD Gummies

joy organics cbd gummies

4.5/5

CBD Potency10-25 mg
Gummy Count30
Total CBD300-750 mg
Cost per mg$0.07-0.13
TypeBroad-spectrum
Flavors2
Third-Party TestView report

These CBD gummies are certified organic by USDA, which means they’re made with 95+% organic ingredients. They come in strawberry lemonade and green apple flavors. But they only contain one minor cannabinoid aside from CBD, which isn’t great for a broad-spectrum product.

Full-Spectrum Delta-9 THC Gummies

joy organics delta-9 thc gummies

5/5

CBD/THC Potency27.5-30 mg
Gummy Count20
Total CBD/THC550-600 mg
Cost per mg$0.06-0.07
TypeFull-spectrum
FlavorsAssorted
Third-Party TestView report

These legal THC gummies come in two CBD: THC ratios — 10:1 (25 mg/2.5 mg) and 5:1 (25 mg/5 mg) with assorted pineapple, blueberry lemonade, and orange flavors. They’re made with vegan and mostly organic ingredients. Third-party tests show a very impressive 30% minor cannabinoids (without counting THC).

CBD Softgels

joy organics curcumin cbd softgels

5/5

Potency10-28 mg
Capsule Count30
Total CBD300-750 mg
Cost per mg$0.09-0.13
TypeFull & broad-spectrum
Formulas4
Third-Party TestView report

Joy Organics offers 10 and 25 mg softgels in four varieties:

  • Regular broad-spectrum CBD softgels
  • Broad-spectrum softgels with 250 mg of anti-inflammatory curcumin 
  • Broad-spectrum softgels with 3 mg melatonin and 3 mg CBN for sleep
  • Full-spectrum softgels (with over 15% minor cannabinoids but undetectable levels of THC)

I like these formulas because they offer different benefits. 

My experience: I tried the curcumin softgels, taking four the day after a workout. I felt powerful relaxation and calmness that lasted for about 4-5 hours. This was the most impressive broad-spectrum product I’ve tried so far.

CBD Topicals

CBD Sports Cream

joy organics cbd sports cream

4.5/5

CBD Potency8.5 mg/ml
Volume4 oz (118 ml)
Total CBD1000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.04
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

Designed for athletes and other active individuals, this cream contains menthol and camphor for cooling and warming relief. 

CBD Cream

joy organics cbd cream

4.5/5

CBD Potency8 mg/g
Volume30 g
Total CBD250 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.13
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This travel-sized cream is designed to support healthy skin and has a simple formula with aloe vera leaf juice, olive fruit oil, and other skincare ingredients. 

Organic CBD Salve

joy organics cbd salve

5/5

CBD Potency17 mg/g
Volume30-60 ml
Total CBD500-1000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.08-0.11
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This simple CBD salve is USDA-certified organic and contains beeswax, lavender oil, and eucalyptus oil. 

Organic CBD Massage Oil

joy organics cbd massage oil

4/5

CBD Potency4.2 mg/g
Volume4 oz (118 ml)
Total CBD500 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.10
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

Joy Organics’ massage oil is also certified organic by the USDA and has a simple formula combining bros-spectrum CBD with organic coconut MCT oil. I’d prefer to see a higher strength though, 4 mg per gram is fairly weak. Also, the third-party tests don’t show THC or many minor cannabinoids.

CBD Bath Bombs

joy organics cbd bath bombs

4/5

CBD Potency25 mg
Count4
Total CBD100 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.08
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

These bath bombs combine CBD with lavender oil and other standard ingredients. A word of caution, however: since there’s a lot of water in a bath and CBD doesn’t dissolve in it, I don’t think CBD is very effective in the form of bath bombs. If you use this product, you will probably benefit from the other ingredients rather than CBD.

Pet CBD Products

Organic CBD Tincture for Dogs & Cats

joy organics pet cbd tincture

5/5

CBD Potency15-30 mg/ml
Volume30 ml 
Total CBD450-900 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.08–0.10
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

Designed for cats and dogs, this tincture comes in two pet-friendly strengths. The weaker one is ideal for small dogs and cats, while the stronger one is best for larger breeds. It’s also one of the few USDA-certified organic pet tinctures on the market. 

CBD Dog Treats

joy organics cbd dog chews

4/5

CBD Potency2 mg
Treat Count30
Total CBD60 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.58
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

These beef-flavored soft chews contain standard ingredients like sweet potato powder and beef liver powder. Joy Organics also claims they’re made with water-soluble CBD, which should enhance the absorption and effects. 

But the strength is rather low, I’d prefer to see 5-10 mg CBD pet treat. Also, Joy Organics claims these treats contain terpenes but the third-party tests didn’t detect any.

Price & Value

The easiest way to compare the value of CBD products is to divide the total cost by the amount of CBD. For example, if you have a 1500 mg CBD oil that costs $100, its price per milligram (mg) of CBD would be 100/1500 = $0.07. 

You also have to consider that the prices vary by product type. Here’s a look at what you’re paying with Joy Organics:

  • CBD oil: 6 to 10 cents per mg of CBD 
  • Capsules: 9 to 13 cents per mg
  • Gummies: 5 to 13 cents per mg
  • Topicals: 4 to 13 cents per mg 
  • Pet CBD oil: 8 to 10 cents per mg

I’d consider these prices just about or slightly cheaper than average. You can also subscribe to scheduled deliveries for 30% off and there’s a special discount for teachers, medical personnel, first responders, veterans, and low-income individuals.

All in all, Joy Organics still provides above-average value because its products are sourced from USDA-certified organic hemp and have decent minor cannabinoid levels. 

Hemp Source and Production Process

Instead of growing and extracting the hemp directly, Joy Organics is partnered with farmers and extractors. 

The hemp is grown on USDA-certified organic farms. The hemp buds are then milled and go through carbon dioxide (CO2) extraction, one of the two leading methods of extracting CBD. 

The extraction process itself is also USDA-certified organic, which isn’t easy to achieve, especially for broad-spectrum products. Finally, Joy Organics formulates and manufactures its products in Fort Collins, Colorado. 

All in all, while I like the USDA-certified organic process, I’d prefer to see more details, like which specific state(s) the hemp is grown in.

Third-Party Testing

Joy Organics sends its products for testing to SC Labs, one of the leading cannabis & hemp testing labs in the country. The results of the potency and contaminant tests can be found on the lab results page. 

Third-Party Test Results

I always look at third-party test reports to confirm that CBD companies sell safe, accurate, and effective products. Specifically, I check for:

  • The levels of CBD, which should ideally be within 10% of the label (3)
  • The levels of minor cannabinoids like CBG and CBC
  • The levels of THC
  • Whether the CBD type (full, broad-spectrum, or isolate) is accurate
  • Whether there are any contaminants

I checked the third-party lab certificate of analysis (CoA) documents for each Joy Organics product. The results are mostly good: up-to-date testing, fairly accurate CBD levels, and correct extract types.

But I did find some issues: a few product tests are low in minor cannabinoids levels or variety, two full-spectrum product tests didn’t find THC, and one product claimed to contain terpenes showed zero on the test report. These aren’t huge problems but it is something for Joy Organics to improve on.

I added screenshots of two specific test documents. You can see my analysis below:

  • The 2250 mg full-spectrum CBD oil report shows 2314.2 mg CBD, which is only 3% more than advertised. The tests also detected over 15% minor cannabinoids, which is an excellent result.
  • The 25 mg CBD gummies CoA shows 28.8 mg CBD, which is 15% more. The minor cannabinoid levels are also solid (11%) although I’d prefer to see a wider variety instead of just CBG and a tiny amount of CBDV.

Shipping & Returns

Joy Organics ships throughout the United States, with free shipping for orders above $50. It also claims to use carbon-neutral shipping by working with the Carbon Fund non-profit organization.

If you wish to return a product, the company has a 90-day satisfaction guarantee. You can return your product for a full refund by sending an email.

Customer Service & Reputation

Joy Organics has over a thousand positive customer reviews and has quickly grown into one of the leading CBD brands. I also like the company is family-run and transparent about its team, third-party testing, and production process. 

The fact that Joy Organics contributes to non-profit organizations and offers discounts to qualifying individuals is a great sign as well.

The Verdict: Great Option for Organic CBD Products

Joy Organics is a solid CBD brand. The products I tried were effective and tasted great and I’m a fan of the innovative curcumin softgels and rare cannabinoid (THCV) gummies. 

I also like the wide variety of full-spectrum and THC-free products, many of which are certified organic by the USDA. That’s a big deal since achieving the USDA seal requires not only using organic-certified hemp but also other ingredients and even extraction methods that are also certified. 

I also appreciate the extensive, easy-to-access third-party test reports and the family-rooted story of the company.

But Joy Organics does have areas to improve on, namely:

  • A few broad-spectrum products are low in minor cannabinoids
  • A few full-spectrum products don’t seem to have detectable levels of THC
  • The massage oil and pet treats have a low CBD potency

Overall Rating: 4.3/5

Use coupon code SNOW20 for 20% off

Leave a Comment