Lazarus Naturals Review: The Best CBD Brand (Nov. 2022)

By | last updated November 28, 2022

Evidence Based 3

We personally test products and may receive a commission if you shop through the links on this page. Learn more.

Lazarus Naturals is an employee-owned CBD company based in the Pacific Northwest. It offers exceptional products sourced from USDA-certified organic hemp. I tried its tinctures, capsules, and edibles, finding them to be some of the most effective and affordable products I’ve tested.

Bottom line: Lazarus Naturals is as close to a perfect CBD brand as possible.

Pros

  • Exceptionally low prices
  • Wide product variety
  • Full-spectrum and THC-free options
  • Multiple strengths and formulas 
  • Everything is done in-house
  • USDA-certified organic hemp

Cons

  • Lacks third-party terpene testing

Overall Rating: 4.9/5

Products 5/5

The products are potent and come in a wide variety of types, strengths, and formulas to suit everyone’s needs.

Price & Value 5/5

Lazarus’ prices are some of the lowest in the industry, especially when you consider the high quality you’re getting.

Hemp Quality 5/5

Lazarus Naturals directly grows its hemp on a USDA-certified organic farm in Central Oregon. It doesn’t get better than that.

Third-Party Testing 4.5/5

Lazarus provides extensive potency & purity test results that prove its products are safe and accurate. We’d like to see terpene potency testing added.

Customer Service & Reputation 5/5

Lazarus is an ethical brand with excellent customer reviews. It’s also transparent, donates to charity, and has the most impressive assistance program we’ve seen.

Lazarus Naturals Overview

Operating out of the Pacific Northwest, Lazarus Naturals is one of the leading CBD brands in the country. It was founded in 2014 by Sequoia Price-Lazarus and his friends with the idea of making high-quality CBD products affordable for everyone. 

The employee-owned company has a “farm-to-door” model, meaning that it oversees every step of the process from growing the USDA-certified organic hemp in Central Oregon to manufacturing the final products. Lazarus also donates to charitable causes and has a 60% discount for veterans and other qualifying individuals.

Its CBD products are among the most potent and effective ones out of any brand I’ve tried and also happen to be some of the cheapest on the market. When it comes to getting the best value for your buck, Lazarus Naturals is the best option. In fact, it’s my favorite CBD brand and the one I recommend the most.

CBD Terminology

  • Terpenes: aromatic plant compounds with a wide variety of beneficial properties (1).
  • Minor cannabinoids: CBN, CBG, CBC, and other beneficial cannabinoids found in smaller amounts in hemp. They work in synergy with CBD, enhancing its effects.
  • Hemp: non-intoxicating cannabis variety with high CBD and low THC levels (less than 0.3%).
  • Full-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract containing multiple cannabinoids, terpenes, and flavonoids. This form of CBD is about 4 times more potent than pure CBD (2).
  • Broad-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract similar to full-spectrum CBD, but with THC removed (may contain trace amounts).
  • CBD isolate: pure CBD with all other hemp compounds removed.

Lazarus Naturals Product Lineup

Lazarus Naturals has a complete variety of CBD products in full-spectrum and pure CBD varieties. There are CBD oils, gummies and other edibles, softgels, pet products, and topicals in a variety of formulations and strengths.

The products I purchased and tested for my review.

For this review, I bought the Lazarus Naturals full-spectrum CBD oil tincture, CBD/CBG oil tincture, sleep tincture, sleep gummies, softgels, and sleep + melatonin capsules. I also previously used its CBD oil and RSO.

I tested out each product and recorded my honest experiences and product photos below. Keep in mind that I’m a seasoned CBD user so the dosages I tried won’t necessarily be ideal for you. 

CBD Oil Tinctures

Full-Spectrum CBD Oil Tincture

lazarus naturals high potency CBD oil

5/5

CBD Potency50 mg/ml
Volume30-120 ml
Total CBD750-6000 mg
Cost per mg CBD $0.02-0.03
TypeFull-spectrum
Flavors3
Third-Party TestsView report

Lazarus’ flagship product, this full-spectrum, high-potency CBD tincture is certified organic by the USDA and comes in three flavors: classic (unflavored), chocolate mint, and strawberry lemonade. 

My experience: Out of the hundreds of CBD oils I’ve tried, this one is my favorite. It’s affordable and has noticeable relaxing and mood-boosting effects that last for at least 4 hours and are stronger than tinctures from other brands. I usually take a full dropper (50 mg) to feel the effects.

Sleep Tincture

lazarus naturals sleep tincture

5/5

CBD/CBN/CBG Potency50 mg/ml
Volume30-120 ml
Total CBD/CBN/CBG1500-6000 mg
Cost per mg $0.02-0.03
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestsView report

Designed to promote and support sleep, this full-spectrum tincture combines 30 mg CBD with 10 mg of minor cannabinoids cannabinol (CBN) and cannabigerol (CBG) for a total of 50 mg.

My experience: I took a full dropper (50 mg) an hour before going to bed. Within 30 minutes, I felt relaxed and had an easier time falling asleep. But I did notice that some people’s reviews mentioned the opposite effect (feeling more awake), which highlights that cannabinoids affect everyone differently. 

CBG/CBD Oil Tincture

lazarus naturals full-spectrum cbg oil

5/5

CBD/CBG Potency50 mg/ml
Volume15-60 ml
Total CBD/CBG750-3000 mg
Cost per mg$0.02-0.03
TypeFull-spectrum, isolate
Third-Party TestsView report

This USDA-organic tincture has a 1:1 ratio of CBD to CBG, with 25 mg of each per ml. It’s also available in a pure CBG version. CBG is a popular minor cannabinoid that offers somewhat different effects from CBD. 

My experience: I tried both versions of this oil. The pure CBG one had me smiling and uplifted and took away some of my muscle soreness. Meanwhile, the full-spectrum version gave me a bit of energy and a better mood within 30 minutes. This is in line with my experience with other CBG products, which tend to make me more upbeat.

THC-Free CBD Oil Tincture

lazarus naturals THC-free CBD oil

5/5

CBD Potency50 mg/ml
Volume15-30 ml 
Total CBD750-1500 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.03
TypeIsolate
Flavors3
Third-Party TestView report

This is a pure CBD version of the full-spectrum CBD oil, so it contains zero THC and other cannabinoids. It’s available in unflavored, blood orange, and wintermint flavors.

CBD Edibles

Full-Spectrum CBD Gummies

lazarus naturals sleep cannabinoid gummies

5/5

CBD Potency25 mg
Gummy Count10-40
Total CBD250-1000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.04-0.05
TypeFull-spectrum, isolate
Formulas4
Third-Party TestView report

Lazarus offers four CBD gummy formulas:

  • Immunity gummies with added zinc, elderberry, and vitamins
  • Sleep gummies with added lemon balm, chamomile, and passion flower
  • Calm gummies with added l-theanine and ashwagandha
  • Energy gummies with 25 mg of pure CBD, caffeine, l-theanine, and vitamin B12

That’s some great variety for different goals.

My experience: I took four sleep gummies an hour and a half before going to sleep. They tasted great and I wanted to keep eating more. By the time I was in bed, I was feeling relaxed and drowsy. I had noticeably deeper sleep than usual and woke up feeling refreshed.

Full-Spectrum CBD Chocolate Bar

lazarus naturals cbd chocolate bar

5/5

Potency20 mg/square
Square Count12
Total Cannabinoids240
Cost per mg$0.06
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This vegan, 70% dark chocolate bar is flavored with salt and vanilla. It uses ethically-farmed cacao beans.

My experience: As a lover of chocolate I may be a bit biased but this dark chocolate was absolutely delicious. It tastes just like any regular dark chocolate. I ate a few pieces after eating peanut butter and felt relaxed, happy, and uplifted about 40 minutes later. This might be my favorite CBD product ever.

CBD Fruit Tarts

lazarus naturals cbd fruit tarts

5/5

CBD Potency25 mg
Gummy Count20-60
Total CBD500-1500 mg
Cost per mg$0.03-0.04
TypeIsolate
Flavors4
Third-Party TestView report

These delicious fruit tarts have a sour taste and are a slightly healthier (and cheaper) alternative to CBD gummies. They’re available in four flavors: strawberry lemon, mango, raspberry lime, and orange pineapple.

CBD Coconut Oil 

lazarus naturals cbd coconut oil

5/5

Potency10 mg/g
Size50-200 g
Total CBD500-2000 mg
Cost per mg$0.02
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This USDA-certified organic coconut oil is infused with full-spectrum hemp extract and has a low price. It’s great for cooking, applying topically on the face and skin, or even using sublingually like CBD oil.

CBD Softgels & Capsules

Full-Spectrum CBD Softgels

lazarus naturals full-spectrum cbd softgels

5/5

CBD Potency25-200 mg
Capsule Count10-200
Total CBD250-20,000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.01-0.04
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestsView report

Lazarus sells softgels in four strengths: 25 mg, 50 mg, 100 mg, and 200 mg. The 100 and 200 mg capsules are some of the strongest you’ll find.

My experience: I took two 50 mg softgels after a fat-containing meal for greater absorption. I felt whole-body relaxation and a better mood about an hour later, with the effects lasting for several hours. These are some of the most potent softgels I’ve tried.

Full-Spectrum Sleep Capsules

lazarus naturals sleep + melatonin capsules

4/5

Potency50 mg
Softgel Count10-40
Total Cannabinoids500-2000 mg
Cost per mg$0.03-0.04
Formulas2
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

These capsules come in two formulas: one without and one with melatonin (5 mg). Both contain 30 mg CBD, 10 mg CBN, and 10 mg CBG, with sleep-supporting herbs lemon balm and passion flower. 

My experience: On paper, the capsule formula looks great. But I didn’t feel any effects when taking 2 capsules before bed. I’m going to try them again later.

CBD Energy Capsules

lazarus naturals cbd energy capsules

5/5

CBD Potency25 mg
Softgel Count10-200
Total CBD250-5000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.02-0.04
TypeIsolate
Third-Party TestView report

Each capsule contains pure CBD alongside energy-boosting caffeine, l-theanine, adaptogenic herb rhodiola rosea, cordyceps mushroom, and vitamins B6 & B12. I like this formula because it contains multiple ingredients that can boost energy and mellows out the caffeine jitters with l-theanine and CBD.

CBD Relax Capsules

lazarus naturals relax cbd capsules

5/5

Potency25 mg
Softgel Count10-200
Total Cannabinoids250-5000 mg
Cost per mg$0.02-0.04
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

These capsules combine CBD with calming supplements chamomile, ashwagandha, L-theanine, and vitamin B6.

CBD Topicals

CBD Muscle Gel

lazarus naturals cbd muscle gel

5/5

CBD Potency20 mg/ml
Volume30-100 ml
Total CBD600-2000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.02
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

Formulated with menthol, camphor, and capsaicin to create a cooling and warming relief, this gel is designed to reduce physical discomfort and soreness in the muscles and joints. 

CBD Balm

lazarus naturals cbd balm

5/5

CBD Potency50 mg/g
Volume20-60 g
Total CBD1000-3000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.01-0.02
TypeFull-spectrum
Formulas3
Third-Party TestsView report

This is one of the strongest CBD balms on the market. It comes in two formulas: 

  • Fragrance-free (with beeswax and jojoba oil)
  • Relax + unwind (with lavender and chamomile for relaxation)

It’s sourced from USDA-certified organic hemp grown on the Lazarus Naturals farm in Central Oregon and has an exceptionally low price tag.

CBD Balm Stick

lazarus naturals cbd balm stick

5/5

CBD Potency50 mg/g
Volume16-72 g
Total CBD800-3600 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.01-0.02
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This balm stick is formulated for relief and recovery, which is why it contains capsaicin and menthol to alleviate aches with cooling and warming sensations. It has the same high potency as the regular balm.

CBD Skin Repair Cream

lazarus naturals skin repair cream

5/5

CBD Potency27 mg/ml
Volume2.5 oz (75 ml)
Total CBD2000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.01
TypeFull-spectrum 
Third-Party TestView report

Designed to soothe inflamed, irritated, dry skin, this cream contains allantoin, calendula, sweet almond oil, and other beneficial botanicals. It also has a very low price.

CBD Lotion

lazarus naturals cbd lotion

5/5

CBD Potency20 mg/g
Volume75-250 ml
Total CBD1500-5000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.01-0.02
TypeFull-spectrum
Scents2
Third-Party TestsView report

One of the cheapest CBD lotions on the market, it contains your typical skincare ingredients like mango butter and jojoba oil and is available in unscented and pacific pine scents. 

CBD Body + Massage Oil

lazarus naturals body massage oil

5/5

CBD Potency8 mg/ml
Volume62.5-500 ml 
Total CBD500-4000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.02
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

As you probably guessed this USDA-certified organic oil is designed for massaging the skin. The ingredients list is fairly simple and includes jojoba oil and sweet almond oil.

CBD Concentrates & RSO

Full-Spectrum CBD RSO

lazarus naturals cbd rso

5/5

CBD Potency100 mg/ml
Volume10-50 ml 
Total CBD1000-5000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.02
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This unique product is a CBD-rich version of the world-famous Rick Simpson Oil (RSO), a cannabis tincture recipe invented by Canadian cannabis activist Rick Simpson. It contains full-spectrum CBD paste and comes in a syringe for easy dosing. 

My experience: Surprisingly enough, the RSO is not that hard to use because you can measure an exact dose with the syringe and the hemp extract is thick so it’s easy to hold under your tongue. It tasted like hemp and had similar but stronger effects compared to the full-spectrum tincture. I took 1 ml (100 mg) doses which made me feel noticeably relaxed and calm.

Bulk Isolates

lazarus naturals cbd isolate

5/5

Potency~93-98+%
Size5-1000 g
Cost per mg$0.003-0.01
TypeCBN or CBG
Third-Party TestView report

If you’re in the market for pure CBD or CBG isolate powder, this is the right product for you. The CBD comes in 5-1000-gram containers of 98+% purity, while the CBG is a bit more expensive and comes in 5 or 20-gram containers with 93+% purity. Isolates can be used in many ways, like cooking and making your own tinctures.

For Pets

Full-Spectrum CBD Pet Oil Tincture

lazarus naturals pet cbd oil

5/5

CBD Potency20 mg/ml
Volume30-120 ml
Total CBD600-2400 mg
Cost per mg CBD $0.03
TypeFull-spectrum
Flavors2
Third-Party TestsView report

This USDA-certified organic pet tincture is ideal for both cats and dogs with its low strength of 20 mg/ml. You can choose the classic or wild salmon-flavored formula. We’d like to see another higher strength added for large dogs.

CBD Dog Chews

lazarus naturals cbd dog chews

5/5

CBD Potency10 mg
Treat Count30
Total CBD300 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.07
TypeFull-spectrum
Formulas3
Third-Party TestView report

These dog chews come in 3 formulas:

  • Calming support with reishi and lion’s mane mushrooms, l-tryptophan, and l-theanine to help with anxiety
  • Digestive health with prebiotic inulin, a blend of probiotics, and more
  • Joint support with fish oil, salmon oil, curcumin, and other joint-supporting ingredients

I like variety and the fact that the chews are full-spectrum and have a higher strength than most dog chews.

Price & Value

The easiest way to compare the value of CBD products is to divide the total cost by the amount of CBD. For example, if you have a 1500 mg CBD oil that costs $100, its price per milligram (mg) of CBD would be 100/1500 = $0.07. 

You also have to consider that the prices vary by product type. Here’s a breakdown of Lazarus Naturals’ prices:

  • CBD oil: 2 to 3 cents per mg of cannabinoids
  • Capsules: 2 to 4 cents per mg
  • Edibles: 2 to 6 cents per mg
  • Topicals: 5 to 6 cents per mg
  • Isolates: 0.3 to 1 cent per mg
  • Pet products: 3 to 7 cents per mg

These prices are much cheaper than the market average. Better yet, there’s free shipping on orders over $50 and a 60% off assistance program for veterans and other qualifying individuals.

In my humble opinion, Lazarus Naturals provides the greatest value out of any CBD brand. You won’t get a better deal on high-quality CBD products elsewhere.

Hemp Source and Production Process

As a vertically-integrated company, Lazarus Naturals does everything under one roof in Central Oregon. The company grows USDA-certified organic hemp, tests it for potency and contaminants, and extracts it with cold ethanol.

Next, the extracts are further processed and blended with other ingredients to make various end products, some of which are fully organic-certified (95% minimum organic ingredients). 

The company also uses recyclable and biodegradable materials for its packaging. Lazarus Naturals is aiming to become carbon neutral by 2030.  

Third-Party Testing

Lazarus Naturals sends its products for third-party testing to Columbia Laboratories, one of the most trusted testing labs in the hemp industry. They’re tested for potency (levels of CBD and other cannabinoids and terpenes) and contaminants. 

Third-Party Test Results

I always look at third-party lab test results to confirm that CBD companies sell safe, accurate, and effective products. Specifically, I check for:

  • The levels of CBD, which should be within 10% of the label (3)
  • The levels of minor cannabinoids like CBG and CBN
  • Whether the CBD type (full, broad-spectrum, or isolate) is accurate
  • Whether there are any contaminants
  • The levels of THC

I looked at dozens of third-party certificate of analysis (CoA) documents for Lazarus Naturals products, finding them both safe and accurate. I added screenshots of three CoAs above for closer analysis:

  • The full-spectrum CBD oil CoA shows multiple cannabinoids and 48.1 mg of CBD per ml (only 4% less than labeled). The minor cannabinoid levels are 11%, which is also good.
  • The immunity CBD gummies CoA shows multiple cannabinoids and 29 mg of CBD per gummy, which is 16% higher. A bit off from the label but still a good result.
  • The 50 mg CBD capsules, showing multiple cannabinoids and 55.1 mg of CBD, which is 10% higher, which is great.

None of the tests found any contaminants. The tests are comprehensive, up-to-date, and done by a reputable lab. All in all, the quality of the testing and the test results themselves are impressive.

Shipping & Returns

Lazarus ships throughout the US, with free shipping on orders above $50. 

It also ships internationally to American Samoa, Belgium, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Colombia, Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Gibraltar, Guam, Lesotho, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Northern Mariana Islands, Panama, Paraguay, Spain, Switzerland, and Zimbabwe. International shipping is free on orders above $200.

You can return products within 90 days of delivery for a refund for any reason.

Customer Service & Reputation

Lazarus has all the signs of a reputable, top-tier CBD brand. For one, it lives up to its mission of making quality CBD products accessible to everyone by offering low prices and an assistance program.

It also donates $100,000 to charitable causes such as DigDeep’s Navajo Water Project, and is certified by B Corp, which is awarded to ethical, transparent, and sustainable companies. 

I also appreciate the transparency: Lazarus Naturals tells us who runs the company, explains the entire production process, and provides up-to-date, detailed lab reports.

In my experience, CBD oils with a dark brown color like this Lazarus Naturals tincture have stronger effects than those that are light-colored and clear.

The Verdict: Exceptional CBD Products at Low Prices

Lazarus Naturals is my favorite brand for a good reason. First and foremost, its products are of high quality — they’re made with USDA-certified organic hemp under strict quality control. 

In my experience, Lazarus’ products have some of the strongest effects out of any brand I’ve tried. For example, the 50 mg/ml full-spectrum tincture has outperformed most stronger tinctures (80 mg/ml and higher) that I’ve tried. 

Second, Lazarus offers these high-quality products are exceptionally low prices — well below the industry average. And it’s great to see an employee-owned company that cares about its mission by offering a 60% off assistance program, using sustainable packaging, and donating to charity. I’m also a fan of the product variety, with many different strengths and formulas for different goals. 

I only have minor suggestions for improvement. For example, it would be nice to see terpene potency testing to see the levels of terpenes in the products. 

Overall Rating: 4.9/5

Leave a Comment