CBDfx Review: Pros & Cons (November 2022)

By | last updated December 1, 2022

Evidence Based 3

We personally test products and may receive a commission if you shop through the links on this page. Learn more.

California’s CBDfx is a popular CBD company known for its wide variety of CBD oils, capsules, gummies, vapes, and topicals. You can choose from many different flavors, formulas, and strengths. I tested its CBD tinctures, gummies, disposable vapes, and sleep capsules, which were weaker than expected.

Bottom line: CBDfx is a decent brand, especially for vapes, but most of its products are a bit weak.

Pros

  • Large variety of flavors and strengths
  • Many product types
  • Easy-to-access third-party test reports
  • Many multi-ingredient products

Cons

  • Products have low minor cannabinoids levels, making them less effective

Overall Rating: 4/5

Use coupon code FXSAVINGS15 for 15% off

Products 4/5

CBDfx has one of the most impressive lineups I’ve come across. But most products have weak effects because of low minor cannabinoids.

Price & Value 3.5/5

CBDfx’s prices are cheaper than average, especially for gummies and vapes. But the value is still average because the products aren’t as effective as proper, high-quality full and broad-spectrum formulas.

Hemp Quality 4/5

CBDfx uses organic hemp cultivated in Kentucky to make its products. I’d like more information on how it’s grown.

Third-Party Testing 4/5

The test results are extensive and easy to find and read. But most broad and full-spectrum products show low levels of minor cannabinoids, reducing their efficacy.

Customer Service & Reputation 4.5/5

CBDfx is one of the biggest brands in the industry, so it has a solid reputation. Still, it looks like the company may be censoring negative reviews.

CBDfx Overview

One of the most popular CBD brands out there, CBDfx is known for its wide variety of innovative products. There are many different formulas, flavors, and strengths for CBD oil, edibles, vapes, topicals, and more.

Many products combine CBD with minor cannabinoids like CBG or CBN or add in other functional ingredients like caffeine, l-theanine, and herbal extracts. 

The company uses Kentucky-grown hemp to source CBD and provides detailed, easy-to-read third-party test reports. CBDfx was founded in 2014 in California, making it one of the oldest companies in the industry. It has nearly 50,000 customer reviews, the most I’ve seen from any CBD brand.

CBD Terminology

  • Terpenes: aromatic plant compounds with a wide variety of beneficial properties (1).
  • Minor cannabinoids: CBN, CBG, CBC, and other beneficial cannabinoids found in smaller amounts in hemp. They work in synergy with CBD, enhancing its effects.
  • Hemp: non-intoxicating cannabis variety with high CBD and low THC levels (less than 0.3%).
  • Full-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract containing multiple cannabinoids, terpenes, and flavonoids. This form of CBD is about 4 times more potent than pure CBD (2).
  • Broad-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract similar to full-spectrum CBD, but with THC removed (may contain trace amounts).
  • CBD isolate: pure CBD with all other hemp compounds removed.

CBDfx Product Lineup

CBDfx sells full-spectrum, broad-spectrum, and pure CBD products in a variety of forms, including tinctures, gummies and other edibles, capsules, topicals, vape juice & disposable pens, and pet products. You can choose from many different strengths, flavors, and formulas. 

The products I received and tested for this unbiased review.

I received samples of the wellness CBD+ CBG tincture, calming tincture, sleep tincture, sleep capsules, berry and spirulina CBD gummies, CBD + delta-9 THC gummies, and four disposable CBD vape pens. See my thoughts below.

CBD Oil Tinctures

CBD + CBG Wellness Tincture

cbdfx-wellness-tincture

4.5/5

CBD/CBG Potency50-150 mg/ml
Volume30-60 ml
Total CBD/CBG1500-9000 mg
Cost per mg$0.02-0.05
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestsView report

This tincture has a 2:1 ratio of CBD to CBG and also contains other ingredients with a variety of benefits, including curcumin and CoQ10. I’m a fan of this formula for overall wellness but the minor cannabinoid amounts are low.

My experience: I received the 3000 mg (2000 mg CBD/1000 mg CBG) version and took a full dropper. The CBD oil has a unique orange color and tastes a little sweet thanks to the stevia. I felt relaxed and uplifted 40 minutes later, although the effects weren’t as strong as similar CBG tinctures.

CBD + CBN Calming Tincture

cbdfx calming tincture

4/5

CBD/CBN Potency38 mg/ml
Volume30-120 ml
Total CBD+CBN1150-6300 mg
Cost per mg$0.03-0.06
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestsView report

This tincture combines 33-100 mg of full-spectrum CBD with 5 mg of cannabinol (CBN) and a blend of calming terpenes. Again, the minor cannabinoid levels are low.

My experience: I received a 2 ml sample bottle (133 mg CBD, 10 mg CBN) of the calming tincture and took it during the day when I was feeling a little stressed and distracted. I felt more relaxed and “lighter” within 30 minutes but the effect was relatively subtle.

The three sample CBDfx tinctures I received and tested.

CBD Oil Sleep Tincture

cbdfx sleep tincture

4/5

CBD/CBN Potency38 mg/ml
Volume30-120 ml
Total CBD+CBN1150-4600 mg
Cost per mg$0.04-0.06
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestsView report

This tincture combines 33 mg of broad-spectrum CBD with 5 mg cannabinol (CBN), 5 mg melatonin, and a blend of sleep-promoting terpenes. 

My experience: I received a 2 ml sample bottle of the sleep tincture containing 200 mg CBD and 10 mg CBN and took it before bed. I did feel more sleepy but the effect wasn’t as big as I expected for the dose.

CBD + Delta 9 THC Oil Drops

4/5

Potency52.5-112.25 mg/ml
Volume30-60 ml 
Total cannabinoids1567.5-6735 mg
Cost per mg$0.03-0.06
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This full-spectrum tincture contains 50-100 mg of CBD and 2.25 mg of THC per ml (one dropper), which is about as high as you can go with the 0.3% legal limit for hemp products. It’s available in an ultimate chill blend and a sweet dreams blend for sleep with added CBN (10 mg/serving).

Despite the fancy name, this is just a standard full-spectrum CBD oil, since they already contain 1-2.5 mg of THC per ml. Only the sweet dreams one is different since it also contains 300-600 mg of CBN. Like other CBDfx products, these tinctures have low amounts (~4%) of minor cannabinoids.

Mushroom Blend Tinctures

cbdfx cbd mushroom tincture

4.5/5

CBD Potency35-69 mg/ml
Volume30-60 ml 
Total CBD1037-4150 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.04–0.07
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

These unique tinctures combine cannabinoids with mushroom extracts. The focus blend tincture contains a mix of CBD and CBG with cordyceps, lion’s mane, and chaga mushrooms. 

Meanwhile, the relax blend carries CBD and CBN with reishi, maitake, and turkey tail mushrooms. I like the innovative formula, even though it’s low in minor cannabinoids.

CBD Edibles

CBD Gummies

cbdfx mixed berry gummies

4.5/5

CBD Potency25 mg
Gummy Count60
Total CBD1500 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.04
TypeBroad-spectrum
Formulas6
Third-Party TestView report

CBDfx’s CBD gummies come in 6 different formulas and flavors:

  • Original mixed berry CBD gummies
  • Gummies with apple cider vinegar
  • Gummies with melatonin for sleep
  • Gummies with mushrooms for wellness
  • Gummies with anti-inflammatory turmeric and spirulina
  • Multivitamin gummies for men & women

I’m a fan of the variety, simplicity, and affordable pricing, but the minor cannabinoid levels are low for a broad-spectrum product (only 1-2%). 

My experience: I received a bottle of the original and turmeric/spirulina gummies. Both were absolutely delicious (without being too sweet) and I felt subtle relaxing effects from taking at least 3-4 gummies at a time. 

I tried two types of CBDfx gummies. Both were delicious.

Delta-9 THC Gummies

CBDfx delta-9 THC gummies

4.5/5

THC/CBD Potency10/30 & 5/25 mg
Gummy Count20
Total Cannabinoids600-800 mg
Cost per mg$0.05-0.06
TypeFull-spectrum
Formulas2
Third-Party TestsView report

If you prefer something with a little more kick, CBDfx offers gummies with a blend of THC and CBD. The 1:5 gummies have 5 mg THC and 25 mg CBD, while the 1:3 gummies have 10 mg and 30 mg for a stronger buzz. These legal full-spectrum THC gummies come in sativa and indica flavors.

My experience: I tried the lemon dream 1:5 gummies. Although they were delicious, I didn’t feel anything from 1 gummy. I tried 2 gummies and felt some relaxing and psychoactive effects, but they took over 2 hours to kick in.

Delta-9 THC Cookies & Brownies

cbdfx delta-9 THC cookie

4.5/5

CBD/THC Potency30-40 mg
Count1
Total CBD/THC30-40 mg
Cost per mg$0.33-0.38
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This is about as close to a legal cannabis edible that you can get. You can get the brownie with 20 mg of CBD and THC, a cookie with the same strength, or a cookie with 20 mg CBD and 10 mg THC. The products are vegan and dairy-free. 

CBD Capsules

CBD + CBN Night Capsules

cbdfx night capsules

4.5/5

CBD/CBN Potency16.25 mg
Capsule Count60
Total CBD/CBN975 mg
Cost per mg CBD $0.07
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestsView report

These capsules combine 15 mg of CBD with 1.25 mg of CBN, a blend of relaxing terpenes, and sleep-promoting valerian root, GABA, and magnesium. 

My experience: The capsules have a strong herbal smell. I took 6 before bed and slept deeper than usual (I typically wake up multiple times during the night). I woke up feeling rested.

CBD Gel Capsules

cbdfx cbd softgels

4.5/5

CBD Potency25 mg
Softgel Count30-60
Total CBD750-1500 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.06-0.09
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

These are your standard full-spectrum gelatin softgels without any bells or whistles.

CBD + CBG Morning Capsules

cbdfx morning capsules

4.5/5

CBD/CBG Potency17.5 mg
Capsule Count60
Total CBD/CBG1050 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.06
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

The morning capsules 15 mg of CBD with 2.5 mg of CBG, a cannabinoid that’s usually promoted for daytime use. They also contain caffeine, rhodiola rosea, and l-tyrosine for an energy boost. 

Delta-9 THC Pills

cbdfx thc pills

4.5/5

CBD/THC Potency27.5 mg
Softgel Count30
Total CBD/THC825 mg
Cost per mg$0.08
TypeFull-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

Again, despite the fancy name, these are essentially just full-spectrum CBD softgels. Each softgel contains 25 mg of CBD and 2.5 mg of THC.

CBD Topicals

Muscle & Joint CBD Cream

cbdfx muscle & joint cream

4.5/5

CBD Potency20-60 mg/ml
Volume50 ml
Total CBD1000-3000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.03-0.05
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This cream is infused with menthol and white willow bark extract to soothe aches and pains. 

CBD Balm Stick

cbdfx balm stick

4/5

CBD Potency12.5-50 mg/ml
Volume60 ml
Total CBD750-3000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.03-0.05
TypeBroad-spectrum 
Third-Party TestView report

This balm comes in two formulas:

  • Muscle & joint, with added camphor, peppermint, and wintergreen oil for cooling and warming relief
  • Calming & moisturizing, which is designed for skin health and contains tea tree oil, lavender, chamomile, and other herbs

The formula is nice but the tests only show CBD.

CBD + CBG Muscle & Joint Lotion

cbdfx cbg cbd lotion

4.5/5

CBD/CBG Potency40-120 mg/ml
Volume50 ml
Total CBD/CBG2000-6000 mg
Cost per mg$0.02-0.03
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This lotion is similar to the muscle & joint cream but has a slightly different formula: it combines CBD and CBG at a 1:1 ratio. It also contains other pain relievers including caffeine, camphor, and white willow bark. The high-strength option is exceptionally potent at 120 mg of cannabinoids per ml: one of the strongest topicals we’ve seen.

CBD Foot Cream

cbdfx foot cream

4.5/5

CBD Potency10 mg/ml
Volume50 ml
Total CBD500 mg
Cost per mg$0.06
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This foot cream is infused with lavender oil, tea tree oil, shea butter, and other skin care ingredients.

CBD Face Mask

cbdfx charcoal face mask

5/5

CBD Potency20-50 mg
# of Masks1-10
Total CBD20-50 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.06-0.14
TypeBroad-spectrum 
Third-Party TestView report

This unique topical product comes in 5 varieties:

  • Aloe vera
  • Cucumber
  • Charcoal
  • Lavender
  • Rose

With so much variety you can find the right mask for your specific skin needs, whether it be dryness or acne. The masks come in a single pack and you can also buy the charcoal and lavender masks in packs of 10 with lower strength.

CBD Foot Masks

cbdfx foot masks

4.5/5

CBD Potency50 mg
Mask Count1
Total CBD50 mg
Cost per mg$0.05
TypeBroad-spectrum
Scents2
Third-Party TestView report

This is certainly one of the more interesting CBD products I’ve come across. It comes in peppermint and lavender scents. I think you can just use any other topical on your feet but the customer reviews are positive.

CBD Bath Salt

cbdfx bath salt

4.5/5

Total CBD100 mg
Cost per mg$0.13
TypeIsolate
Scents2
Third-Party TestView report

These CBD-infused bath salts come in peppermint and lavender scents. They’re made with Celtic Sea salt. 

CBD Massage Oil

cbdfx massage oil

4/5

CBD Potency2.5 mg/ml
Volume200 ml
Total CBG/CBD500 mg
Cost per mg$0.05
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

CBDfx’s massage oil is infused with jojoba oil, primrose, and other skincare ingredients. I’d like to see a higher strength used, 2.5 mg/ml is quite weak. 

CBD Bath Bombs

cbdfx bath bomb

4/5

CBD Potency200 mg
Bomb Count1
Cost per mg$0.05
TypeIsolate
Scents4
Third-Party TestView report

At 200 mg, these are the strongest CBD bath bombs I’ve come across. They’re available in four scents:

  • Eucalyptus
  • Lavender
  • Lemongrass & chamomile
  • Mango & Shea Butter

Although I’m not against bath bombs, they’re not the best way to use CBD because it’s not soluble in water. Besides, 200 mg of CBD isn’t all that much when it’s dispersed in your bath. 

CBD Vapes

CBD Vape Juice

cbdfx cbd vape juice

4.5/5

Potency17-33 mg/ml
Volume30-60 ml
Total cannabinoids500-2000 mg
Cost per mg$0.04-0.07
TypeIsolate
Flavors5
Third-Party TestView report

This is one of the better CBD vape juices on the market. It’s affordable, has a straightforward formula with 50/50 VG/PG, and comes in 5 flavors: blue raspberry, strawberry milk, wild watermelon, strawberry kiwi, and fresh mint. But it would be nice if they sold the 2000 mg version in the same 30 ml bottle for higher potency.

My experience: I used this vape juice years ago. I liked the taste and got noticeable relaxing effects within a few puffs. I also like the plastic bottle with a narrow neck for filling your tank. 

CBD + Delta-9 THC Vape Juice

cbdfx cbd delta-9 thc vape juice

4.5/5

Potency69 mg/ml
Volume30 ml
Total Cannabinoids2075 mg
Cost per mg $0.04
TypeFull-spectrum
Flavors5
Third-Party TestsView report

This version of CBDfx’s vape juice is full-spectrum: it contains not only 2000 mg CBD but small amounts of THC (75 mg) and other minor hemp cannabinoids. 

It comes in five delicious flavors inspired by cannabis strains: Maui wowie, purple punch, wedding cake, pineapple express, and OG kush. The purple punch version also packs 200 mg of CBN for greater relaxation. But I’d like to see more minor cannabinoids in a proper full-spectrum product.

CBD Vape Pen

cbdfx cbd vape pen

4.5/5

Potency250 mg/ml
Volume2 ml
Total cannabinoids500 mg
Cost per mg$0.07
TypeBroad-spectrum
Flavors5
Third-Party TestView report

These vape pens are essentially a disposable, ready-to-go version of the regular vape juice. They have a USB port if you want to charge with your own charger. But I wouldn’t call these broad-spectrum; they contain a tiny amount of only 1 cannabinoid aside from CBD.

My experience: I received and tried out all four flavors. The vapes smell and taste great, with the strawberry being a personal favorite. I felt relaxed after taking a few puffs. The pen feels nice to hold and use. 

CBD + Delta-9 THC Vape Pen

cbdfx cbd + delta 9 THC vape pen

4.5/5

Potency207.5 mg/ml
Volume2 ml
Total cannabinoids505 mg
Cost per mg$0.07
TypeFull-spectrum
Flavors5
Third-Party TestView report

This is the disposable version of CBDfx’s full-spectrum vapes, with 500 mg CBD and 5 mg THC. They’re available in the same five flavors: Maui wowie, purple punch, wedding cake, pineapple express, and OG kush.

Again, while I like the product, it’s a bit low on minor cannabinoids for a full-spectrum formula. 

CBD Vape Kit

cbdfx vape kit

5/5

This simple $39.99 vape kit is light and small, making it ideal to carry around. It’s also designed with the optimal temperature for vaping CBD. It comes with a rechargeable battery, ceramic glass and steel vape cartridge, and a USB charger. You can fill it with CBDfx’s vape juice. 

CBD for Pets

CBD Oil for Dogs

cbdfx dog cbd tincture

5/5

CBD Potency8-67 mg/ml
Volume30 ml 
Total CBD250-2000 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.05–0.12
TypeBroad-spectrum
Flavors2
Third-Party TestView report

I like that this CBD oil comes in four strengths for dogs ranging from small to large breeds. It comes in bacon and chicken flavors. 

CBD Oil for Cats

cbdfx cat cbd tincture

4.5/5

CBD Potency8 mg/ml
Volume30 ml 
Total CBD250 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.12
TypeBroad-spectrum
Flavors2
Third-Party TestView report

Like the dog version, this tincture is broad-spectrum and flavored with chicken or bacon. I’d like to see more minor cannabinoids.

CBD Dog Treats

cbdfx cbd dog treats

5/5

CBD Potency15 mg
Treat Count30
Total CBD450 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.09
TypeBroad-spectrum
Formulas2
Third-Party TestView report

These dog treats come in two formulas:

  • Stress & anxiety, with calming herbs chamomile, passionflower, and valerian root
  • Muscle & joint, with turmeric, MSM, glucosamine, and other joint supplements

I like the relatively high strength of 15 mg; too many CBD dog treats have low potency. 

Pet CBD Balm

cbdfx pet balm

4.5/5

CBD Potency12.5 mg/ml
Volume60 ml 
Total CBD750 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.05
TypeBroad-spectrum
Third-Party TestView report

This is an all-around pet topical product for skin issues. It’s infused with Alaskan salmon oil and shea butter. 

Price & Value

The easiest way to compare the value of CBD products is to divide the total cost by the amount of CBD. For example, if you have a 1500 mg CBD oil that costs $100, its price per milligram (mg) of CBD would be 100/1500 = $0.07. 

You also have to consider that the prices vary by product type.

Here’s the breakdown of CBDfx’s product prices:

  • CBD oil: 2 to 7 cents per mg of CBD
  • Capsules: 6 to 8 cents per mg
  • Gummies: 4 to 6 cents per mg
  • Topicals: 2 to 14 cents per mg
  • Pet products: 5 to 12 cents per mg
  • Vapes: 4 to 7 cents per mg

These prices are cheaper than average, with some categories like gummies and vapes offering even greater savings. Still, the value is average because the products contain low levels of minor cannabinoids.

Hemp Source and Production Process

CBDfx sources its organic hemp from Kentucky. The plant material is extracted with carbon dioxide, one of the two main methods of CBD extraction. Aside from that, we don’t know too much. More details would certainly be nice.

Third-Party Testing

CBDfx sends its products to SC Labs, a leading hemp & cannabis testing lab, for independent testing. You can easily look up potency and purity test results for every product. 

Third-Party Test Results

I always look at third-party lab test results to confirm that CBD companies sell safe and accurate products. I check:

  • The levels of CBD, which should be within 10% of the label (3)
  • The levels of minor cannabinoids like CBG and CBC
  • The levels of THC
  • Whether the CBD type (full, broad-spectrum, or isolate) is accurate
  • Whether there are any contaminants

I added screenshots of two third-party test documents to give you a better explanation of what they show:

  1. The first CoA is for CBDfx’s 2000/1000 mg CBD + CBG tincture. The tests found 2200 mg CBD (13.5% more than advertised) and 1045.5 mg CBG (5% more). That’s a pretty good result. However, the tests don’t show any other minor cannabinoids except trace amounts of CBDV, which isn’t great for a broad-spectrum product. 
  2. The 2nd CoA is for the 25 mg mixed berry gummies. Again, while CBD content is fairly accurate (29.9 mg, 20% higher), there are very few minor cannabinoids (1.5%) in these broad-spectrum gummies.

All in all, the extent of testing and the potency test results are solid. But there is one recurring issue with virtually all CBDfx products — they contain small amounts of minor cannabinoids. That may explain why the products weren’t as effective as I expected.

Shipping & Returns

CBDfx ships throughout the United States. It has free shipping for orders over $75. As for returns, unopened products can be returned for a refund within 60 days of the order. 

CBDfx also has a British website with free shipping on orders over £35.

Customer Service & Reputation

CBDfx is a reputable, established CBD vendor with solid customer service. It has nearly 50,000 customer reviews on its website, which is the most I’ve seen from any CBD company. I also like that it reveals the identities of its team and is transparent about third-party testing.

Having said that, the reviews on CBDfx’s website look suspiciously good, with most products showing a rating of 4.8 or higher. We’ve also heard claims of CBDfx removing negative reviews. I’d like more transparency from CBDfx here; the ratings seem too good to be true.

The Verdict: A Bit Too Much Flash Over Substance

CBDfx is a solid brand and I’m a fan of its gummies and vape products, which have decent prices and effects. I also like the variety of flavors and formulas and the easy-to-access third-party test reports.

But CBDfx is a bit too much flash over substance. While the products, the packaging, and the website look amazing and the products taste great, the actual effects I felt were weak for the potency. I suspect this is mainly because the products have low minor cannabinoid levels, which play a big role in the benefits of CBD. 

For example, the 100 mg/ml CBD + CBG tincture had effects that were comparable to a full-spectrum tincture of half the potency from a different brand, and the THC gummies weren’t as strong as similar ones from other brands. I’d also like more transparency in the product reviews.

I recommend sticking to CBDfx for vapes, gummies, and maybe topical products. But you can find more effective CBD oil and capsules elsewhere.