Austin and Kat Review (Nov. 2022)

By | last updated November 22, 2022

Evidence Based 3

We personally test products and may receive a commission if you shop through the links on this page. Learn more.

Austin and Kat is a pet-focused brand that offers CBD chews and oils for dogs and cats infused with multiple botanical ingredients. I tested out its CBD oil, chews, and topper with my four-legged companions Max and Delilah.

Bottom line: While there’s room to improve, Austin and Kat is a good option for pet owners interested in CBD.

Pros:

  • THC-free products
  • Functional, multi-ingredient formulas for different pets and specific benefits
  • Multiple product strengths
  • Positive customer reviews

Cons:

  • The production process is not described
  • A few products contain the wrong type of CBD

Overall Rating: 4.1/5

Use coupon code WalkWithAustinAndKat for 15% off

Products 4.5/5

We like the selection of different formulas for specific pet needs. It’s also nice to see multiple CBD product strengths for cats and dogs of all sizes.

Price 3.5/5

Most prices for Austin and Kat are higher than average. But you’re getting other beneficial ingredients, so the price is still reasonable.

Hemp Quality 3.5/5

Austin and Kat gets finished hemp extract from a separate supplier. It’s made from organic Colorado hemp. We’d like to see more info on the extraction process and how the hemp is grown.

Third-Party Testing 4/5

Although all extracts and finished products are tested by a reputable third-party lab, some appear to contain pure CBD instead of the advertised broad-spectrum CBD.

Customer Service & Reputation 5/5

Based on the reviews, customer satisfaction seems to be high and most customers say they would recommend Austin and Kat to others. I also like that it was founded by a concerned pet owner.

Austin and Kat Overview

The  Austin and Kat story began in 2014, in Kat Donatello’s kitchen in Maine. She was inspired to make CBD-infused treats to help her aging dog Brady.

Kat’s treats were popular with her friends and their dogs, so much so that she decided to turn it into a business. She gradually refined the recipes and launched Austin and Kat 2016. The company operates out of Seattle, WA, providing CBD health and wellness products for dogs and cats.

All products are still made by hand, in small batches, using local ingredients, which is unheard of in the CBD industry. They’re also safe for humans, so you can eat them right along with your pet if you’re so inclined.

Austin and Kat sources hemp extracts from a supplier that grows its hemp in Colorado.

kat donatello with her dog austin
Kat Donatello with her dog Austin.

CBD Terminology

  • Terpenes: aromatic plant compounds with a wide variety of beneficial properties (1).
  • Minor cannabinoids: CBN, CBG, CBC, and other beneficial cannabinoids found in smaller amounts in hemp. They work in synergy with CBD, enhancing its effects.
  • Hemp: non-intoxicating cannabis variety with high CBD and low THC levels (less than 0.3%).
  • Full-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract containing multiple cannabinoids, terpenes, and flavonoids. This form of CBD is about 4 times more potent than pure CBD (2).
  • Broad-spectrum: whole-plant hemp extract similar to full-spectrum CBD, but with THC removed (may contain trace amounts).
  • CBD isolate: pure CBD with all other hemp compounds removed.

Austin and Kat Product Lineup

Austin and Kat has an impressive lineup for a pet-only brand. It offers CBD for your pets in the form of oils or chews and has a good selection of formulas for different health benefits.

The products Austin & Kat sent me for an honest review.

CBD Oils

Austin and Kat carry several different CBD oils for pets, with a variety of strengths and special formulas designed for specific benefits.

Everyday Wellness CBD Oil

austin and kat extra strength cbd oil

4.5/5

CBD Potency3.3-40 mg/ml
Volume30 ml
Total CBD100–1200 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.08–0.25
TypeBroad-spectrum
Flavors2
Third-Party TestView report

The Everyday Wellness CBD oil comes in regular strengths with 3.3-10 mg of CBD per serving, as well as extra strength options with up to 40 mg of CBD per ml.

These tinctures also contain CoQ10, a popular supplement touted for its heart and other health benefits, and black pepper fruit, which may enhance the absorption of CBD (3). But the minor cannabinoid levels are a tad low.

My experience: I added the 600 mg oil to the food of Max the friendly pitbull and Delilah the curious Maine Coon. Max seemed to act more chill afterward while Delilah was her usual relaxed cat self.

Functional CBD Oils

austin and kat no more wiggles cbd oil

4.5/5

CBD Potency515 mg/ml
Volume30 ml
Total CBD150-450 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.14-0.23
TypeBroad-spectrum
Formulas5
Third-Party TestView report

The special formula CBD oils help pet owners deal with specific health issues. You can choose from five formulas containing unique ingredients alongside CBD:

  • Bailey’s no more wiggles oil is designed to help dogs with anxiety and everyday stress
  • Harper’s immunity oil is made to boost your dog’s immune system
  • The cat CBD oil is designed to support your feline companion’s health
  • Bakko’s hip and joint oil supports joint health
  • Brady’s senior formula oil supports the overall health of older dogs

CBD Chews

These soft-baked dog chews provide the same CBD oil formulas but in a tasty, edible form.

Everyday Wellness CBD Soft Chews

austin and kat everyday wellness cbd chews

4.5/5

CBD Potency2.5-10 mg
Chew Count30
Total CBD75-300 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.15-0.33
TypeBroad-spectrum
Flavor1
Third-Party TestView report

The Everyday Wellness CBD Soft Chews are based on Kat’s original home kitchen recipe.

They come in three different strengths of 2.5, 5, or 10 mg of CBD per chew, so you can choose the one that fits your dog’s size.

They are made in small batches and come in a tasty peanut butter apple flavor. In addition to CBD, these chews contain turmeric and other beneficial botanicals.

Functional CBD Chews

austin and kat senior dog chew

4.5/5

CBD Potency12-14 mg
Chew Count30
Total CBD420 mg
Cost per mg CBD$0.12-0.14
TypeIsolate?
Formulas4
Third-Party TestView report

Austin and Kat also offers four special CBD chew formulas inspired by the functional CBD oils:

  • The Senior Blend chews are intended for dogs that are 6 years and older
  • The No More Wiggles formula is made to help dogs cope with daily stressors, especially if you have an anxious pup
  • The Hip and Joint formula is formulated with ingredients like ginger, l-carnitine, and glucosamine to promote proper joint health
  • The immunity chews have slightly less CBD (12 mg) and carry immune-boosting ingredients like mushrooms and ashwagandha

While we like these formulas, they seem to contain pure CBD rather than broad-spectrum CBD.

Max the pitbull enjoying CBD chews

My experience: My friend’s 9-year-old pitbull Max absolutely loved the senior blend treats. He kept asking for more and seemed to act more mellow after eating them.

Supplement Meal Toppers

austin and kat senior blend topper

4.5/5

CBD PotencyN/A
TypeN/A
Formulas6
Third-Party TestN/A

These supplement toppers can be added to your pet’s regular food. They don’t have any CBD but contain other beneficial active ingredients inspired by the brand’s CBD-infused chews.

You can choose from six formulas:

  • Daily joint support with green mussel and curcumin
  • Bakko’s joint support with green mussel plus glucosamine, Boswellia serrata, curcumin, and reishi mushroom extract
  • Harper’s mushroom medley for immunity, with chaga, cordyceps, lion’s mane, maitake, reishi, shitake, and turkey tail mushrooms
  • Brady’s senior blend with fish oil, lion’s mane, ashwagandha extract, cranberry, nutritional yeast, glucosamine, blueberry, and curcumin
  • Bailey’s no more wiggles topper with ashwagandha, Icelandic kelp, spirulina, valerian, king trumpet mushroom, and passionflower
  • Purrfect feline formula topper for cats with fish oil, Icelandic kelp, cranberry, maitake mushroom, yucca root, and l-theanine

My experience: I got Brady’s senior blend topper for Max, my friend’s 9-year-old pitbull. He wasn’t as thrilled about eating it as the chews but he did finish most of it with his food.

Price & Value

The easiest way to compare the prices of different CBD products to see if you’re getting a good deal is to divide the total cost by the amount of CBD. For example, if you have a 1500 mg CBD oil that costs $100, its price per mg would be 100/1500 = $0.07.

Austin and Kat’s prices are:

  • $0.08-0.25 per mg of CBD for CBD oil
  • $0.12-0.33 per mg for CBD chews

These prices are a little high. Having said that, many of the products contain other beneficial ingredients and there is free shipping on orders over $50. You can also subscribe for 15% off.

But overall, we think the prices should be a tad lower. You can find cheaper pet products elsewhere.

Hemp Source and Extraction Process

Austin and Kat uses broad-spectrum hemp extract provided by a company called Treehouse Biosciences. This company’s organic hemp is sourced from Colorado, the heartland of America’s CBD industry.

While we prefer brands that grow their own hemp, we like that Austin and Kat is transparent about their hemp extract sourcing. Still, we’d like to see more info about how this hemp is grown and extracted.

Max enjoying his chews.

Third-Party Testing

Austin and Kat works with Columbia Laboratories, one of the leading hemp & cannabis testing labs in the country. It does two rounds of testing.

First, it sends the raw hemp extract to be tested for potency and contaminants before it goes into any Austin & Kat product, posting the results under the input analysis section of its lab reports page. It also sends the finished products for potency testing to make sure they’re accurate.

We examine some of these potency tests in detail below.

Third-Party Test Results

We always check third-party lab test documents to confirm that CBD companies sell safe and accurate products. More specifically, we look at:

  • The levels of CBD, which should be within 10% of the label (3)
  • The levels of THC
  • The levels of minor cannabinoids like CBG (the more, the better)
  • Whether there are any contaminants
  • Whether the CBD type (full or broad-spectrum or isolate) is accurate

The product tests we looked at (see test CoAs above) showed the right amount of CBD (within 10% of the label), which is great.

Our only complaint is that the functional chews only appear to contain pure CBD isolate instead of the broad-spectrum CBD advertised on the label. For example, you can see that only CBD was detected in the third-party test of Brady’s senior blend chews shown above.

Shipping & Returns

Austin and Kat offer free shipping on orders over $50, which is pretty standard. Shipping is $7 if your order is under $50.

Their website says they ship from Seattle on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday of every week. They try to process all orders within 48 hours, and they ship USPS.

There’s also a 30-day money-back guarantee. If you are not satisfied with your product, you can contact their customer service team within 30 days of delivery.

Customer Service & Reputation

Although Austin and Kat isn’t the biggest name in the CBD space, its customer reviews are excellent.

With over 1000 customer reviews in total, Austin and Kat’s products are close to a five-star rating. On top of that, 95% of reviewers would recommend these products to a friend.

We also like the fact that the company was created by a pet owner who formulated the products herself.

Our Verdict: A Great CBD Brand for Pet Owners

Austin and Kat is a solid pet CBD brand. The natural botanicals, herbs, and other ingredients that the company uses provide added benefits and help the company stand out. And my friend’s pooch seemed to like their chews.

I also like that the products are made by hand in small batches and use human food-grade ingredients, making all of its pet products good enough for us to eat, if we really wanted to.

But the company’s prices are a little high. I’d also like to know how the hemp extract is made and some products seem to contain the wrong type of CBD.

Overall Rating: 4.1/5

Use coupon code WalkWithAustinAndKat for 15% off

Leave a Comment